UNIT share a table with Twickenham Studios at this years WFTV

The 2019 Women in Film & TV Awards, supported by Sky, took place on the afternoon of Friday 6 December at the London Hilton on Park Lane.

The UNIT Film & TV team joined forces with our partners Twickenham Studios to share a table at this years event and had a great day meeting industry nominees and winners.

Kicking off with a glass of fizz the event celebrated talented women across film and TV, with winners in catergories from across the industry which included directing, performance, producing, business and project management.

Jane Featherstone, founder of Sister Pictures was presented with The Barclays Business award by Emily Watson for her outstanding contribution to the industry. Director Jessica Hobbs was presented with The Deluxe Director Award by Helena Bonhem Carter who she described as her ‘favourite director’ and worked together whilst filming The Crown.

Our friend Faye Ward was presented with The Envy Producer award by Steve Coogen, who featured in Stan and Ollie produced by Ward. In The Technicolor Creative Technology category the star of the show was Good Omens editor Emma Oxley, who was presented the award by comedian Mel Giedroyc.

The Craft Award was received by Judi Lee-Headman, the sound mixer whose work includes that of The Capture and Britannia was presented by Britannia star David Morrisey. As well as Stacey Dooley coming to present the Project Management Award to producer Jo Burn.

Claudia Winkleman went away with this years EIKON Presenter Award which was awarded to her by fellow radio and TV presenter Kirsty Young. Derry Girls writer Lisa McGee also went away with The ScreenSkills Writing Award, with Coronation Street actress Cherylee Houston going home with The ITV Studios Achievement of the Year accolade, presented by her Coronation Street co-star Rula Lenska.

The Best Performance category was awarded by Julian Rhind-Tutt who starred alongside winning The Walking Dead star Samantha Morton. While The Netflix New Talent Award was given to Laurie Nunn, writer and creator of Sex Education.

Journalist Katya Adler went away with The BBC News and Factual Award presented by Angela Rippon, with Channel 4’s head of News Dorothy Byrne, recieving The Argonon Contribution to the Medium Award by news reader Krishnan Guru-Murthy.

Full list of Women in Film and TV Awards 2019 winners:

The Barclays Business Award
Jane Featherstone

The Technicolor Creative Technology Award
Emma Oxley

The Craft Award
Judi Lee-Headman

The ENVY Producer Award
Faye Ward

The EIKON Presenter Award
Claudia Winkleman

The IMDb Project Management Award
Jo Burn

The Netflix New Talent Award
Laurie Nunn

The ITV Studios Achievement of the Year Award
Cherylee Houston

The Deluxe Director Award
Jessica Hobbs

The ScreenSkills Writing Award    
Lisa McGee

The Best Performance Award
Samantha Morton

The BBC News and Factual Award          
Katya Adler

The Argonon Contribution to the Medium Award
Dorothy Byrne

The EON Productions Lifetime Achievement Award
Floella Benjamin  

For updates on this year’s winners, check out  #WFTVAwards on Twitter.